Social Circle

| December 31, 2012

In the ongoing development of our community, the SBA has started support for meditative practice with the Practice Circle. A second pillar of that support is each other, friends on a contemplative path. To that end, we’re going to have a monthly get together called Social Circle.

What is Social Circle?

Social Circle is a light and friendly get together for people to meet others interested in secular Buddhism. It is neither meditation nor study, but rather a relaxed social gathering to make new friends. No registration is required, Social Circle is on a drop-in basis. You do not have to be in Practice Circle to join us for some laughter and company in Social Circle.

When do we meet?

Second Friday of every month
8:00 p.m. Central U.S. time — please check your own time zone to ensure you can join us at the right time!

How do we meet?

We’ll start right at 8:00 p.m. Central (that’s 6:00 p.m. Pacific, 7:00 p.m. Mountain, and 9:00 p.m. Eastern). Here is a link for you to click on to join the meeting:

Join Zoom Meeting

Note that because Social Circle is drop-in, no registration is needed, and no reminders will be sent.

Hope you can make it Friday night!

Category: Articles

Ted Meissner

About the Author ()

Ted Meissner is the host of the podcast Present Moment: Mindfulness Practice and Science. He has been a meditator since the early 90’s, has been interviewed for Books and Ideas, Mindful Lives, and The Whole Leader podcasts, spoken about mindfulness with various groups including Harvard Humanist Hub, and has written for Elephant Journal and The International Journal of Whole Person Care. He is the Executive Director of the Secular Buddhist Association, host of the SBA’s official podcast The Secular Buddhist, and is on the Advisory Board for the Spiritual Naturalist Society. Ted’s background is in the Zen and Theravada traditions, he is a regular speaker on interfaith panel discussions, and is interested in examining the evolution of contemplative practice in contemporary culture. Ted teaches Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction (MBSR) at the Center for Mindfulness in Medicine, Health Care & Society, where he is the Manager of Online Programming and Community Development.

Comments are closed.