Dhammapada- FLOWERS ( Let’s Discuss)

Home Forums Basic Buddhist Teachings Dhammapada- FLOWERS ( Let’s Discuss)

This topic contains 4 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Shane Presswood Shane Presswood 1 week, 3 days ago.

• Author
    Shane Presswood
    Shane Presswood
    Participant

4/28/18
    Flowers

While it has been a few days since I studied the dharma in the Dhammapada I have indeed had many mixed emotions and experiences taught to me. I feel I May have been too critical of myself in some aspects of my study and yet lenient in others. To determine where each one of those labels lye I must continue on in the moment. I consistently have been working out at least five days per week for almost two months now and continue not to get pin the scale or take any measurements. I vow to myself to not even look at stats until at least after the sixty day marker. I have begun watching what I eat and been working on the mindful journal fro about a week now as well. I continue to work forty plus hours, read the two books I’ve been reading (the Dan Harris and Rabgye ones) and am now onto this scripture that speaks of flowers. Let’s get down to it. I feel it is important to check in with myself and where I am and what I am doing along this journey.

“The disciple will overcome the earth, and the world of Yama, and the world of the gods. The disciple will find the plainly shown path of virtue, as a clever man finds the right flower.”

This one goes into some depth about the ancient Hindu gods and I interpret it as being quite agnostic in its tone. Yama is the god of death and the disciple I am going to say is any man who chooses to study the path of the Buddha’s teaching of the eightfold path described in the fourth noble truth. I also feel this passage is yet another reference towards man not needing outside influence to live a virtuous life.