Hwadu meditation

Home Forums Meditation Hwadu meditation

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by Shane Presswood Shane Presswood 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author
    Tobias
    Tobias
    Participant

In the books of Martine and Stephen Batchelor I read about Hwadu meditation. I made some experience with this kind of meditation and I would like to deepen it.

Are there other people who practice Hwadu meditation? Is anyone interested exchanging experiences? Are there any teachers who offer courses and/or training?

Best Regards,
    Tobias

Shane Presswood
    Shane Presswood
    Participant

Tobias, I too am looking into different methods of focusing my meditations on at this time as well. I came across https://www.hwadu.org/hwadu-what-is-this/ but am looking for more samples of Hwadu (Zen). What have you found thus far?

Gassho,
    Shane

steve mareno
    Participant

I’ve been practicing Zen for two decades, but still had to look this up! We’re talking about koan meditation, right? That’s all I have ever heard it referred to as.

Koans are not for everyone, and in almost every instance they are given to a student by a Rinzai Zen teacher once the student has progressed to a certain point. Not all Rinzai teachers use them, and the head kahuna at my current center doesn’t, nor did his teacher. You really need to work with a teacher on this, the only time I think that’s necessary, or not much happens.

That’s because the answer to a koan has nothing to do with a “correct” answer, it has to do with whether or not the student has actually awakened to reality. If they have, any answer they give will be “right”. If they haven’t, every answer they give will be “wrong”.