vipassana retreat

Home Forums Retreat Q & A vipassana retreat

This topic contains 9 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  David S 10 months, 2 weeks ago.

• Author
    Amy Balentine
    Amy Balentine
    Participant

I will be attending a 10 day retreat at a Goenka vipassana center in January. The longest retreat for me so far has been 3 days. I understand that this is a more rigorous experience than many other types of retreats. I feel a bit unprepared. Any advice from those who’ve gone on retreats this long or even this retreat in particular?

Mark Knickelbine
    Keymaster

Wow, Amy, what a commitment! I’ve never done a Goenka retreat before but there are plenty of descriptions of them online, and I know a couple people who have done them. They sound very grueling! If you know a yoga or meditation instructor, you might want to get tips on your sitting posture, because you’re gonna be doing a lot of it. Please be sure to tell us about your experience!

Amy Balentine
      Amy Balentine
      Participant

I will definitely keep you posted, Mark!

David S
    Participant

Hi Amy.

I went on a Goenka 10 day retreat. My suggestion is a few days prior to even starting the retreat prepare for the daily schedule by getting up in the morning earlier and earlier until you are getting up at the same time. The daily retreat schedule starts with waking up at 4am, and a 4:30 sit. Try to adjust your sleep schedule beforehand so you can be in sync with the rhythm. You will also be able to go to bed at 9pm and get to sleep, and avoid being sleepy during the day while practicing. Sitting will feel much better having had a good nights sleep, and sitting really requires one’s full effort.