My view on the metaphysical

Home Forums Basic Buddhist Teachings My view on the metaphysical

This topic contains 24 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by Shane Presswood Shane Presswood 4 months ago.

• Author
    Dan Hanly
    Dan Hanly
    Participant

I’m still fairly new to Buddhism, and I come from a technical, logic orientated background (software engineering). This seems to cause me difficulty digesting the more metaphysical concepts of Buddhism (Karma and Rebirth) so, I’ve come up with a way that I can rationalise them, removing the metaphysical, without losing the spirit of the teachings. I hope by sharing this that I can either inspire discussion (feel free to tell me I’m wrong), or help someone else rationalise them. I will stress that I don’t want to invalidate anyone’s views/beliefs, I’m just trying to find a way to fit the spirit of the teachings into my understanding.

My view on Karma is simply one of a chain reaction. Sometimes when we act negatively, the karma presents itself as a chain reaction that we ourselves instigate. Instead of the metaphysical force that many believe governs the dishing out of justice or good fortune, we bring this on ourselves and we are the only participants in this process. Simply put, if I gossip about a person, the ‘karma’ will be that I offer distaste of my views upon someone who feels differently – this could cause any number of subsequent situations – gossiping about me, the subject of the gossiping finding out and an argument being caused, others seeking revenge, etc. Here my gossip instigated the karma directly, without the need for a governing force. The teachings of the eightfold path are retained as well as possible, in this view.