Skip to content

Posts Tagged ‘three marks of existence’

The Three Marks of Existence

Buddhism’s three marks of existence are the deepest part of the dharma. We will discuss what they are, and how there are subtle differences between their scope. We’ll then look at how they were emphasized in different ways throughout history, and how they’ve made a strong comeback in the modern world due to one influential…

Read More

A World of Impermanence: the Three Marks

The three marks of existence (anicca, dukkha, anatta, or impermanence, unsatisfactoriness, and non-self) have always played a central role in Buddhist dhamma. They outline its basic metaphysics, the ground which characterizes lived reality. The Buddha viewed these characteristics as everlastingly true of the world: “Bhikkhus, whether Tathāgatas arise or not, there persists that law, that…

Read More